Classroom 2.0 PA 2009

Photo courtesy of Flickr Creative Commons

Photo courtesy of FlickrCreativeCommons/Regulus

It has been over a month since my last blog post and I need to stop slacking! It should be much easier to find some worthwhile topics now that we’re back in school and there is always something going on.

For example, a couple of weeks ago I attended the Classroom 2.0 PA Conference at the Capital Area Intermediate Unit (IU15). It was outstanding! There were about 50 people in attendance, which led to some very informal and productive sessions. For me, the conversations that take place during conference sessions are the most beneficial. The sharing of thoughts, ideas, and knowledge about a particular topic opens the pipeline of ideas to take back to my school district and our teachers.

I also had the opportunity to present for the first time at a conference. I thought it went relatively well, but I found quite difficult to prepare when I didn’t know the level of my audience. Consequently, I found that I assumed a certain level of knowledge that I should not have. That being said, I hope I was able to adjust the information I shared so everybody was able to walk away with something to take back to his or her classroom.

Here are some of the gems I found while attending this year’s event.

During the two days of the conference, we had the opportunity to Skype with the following people:

  • Steve Hargadon – founder of Classroom 2.0

http://www.classroom20.com

  • Andrew Lafoon and Aryk Grosz – founders of Mixbook. Mixbook is a site that allows you to create collaborative photo books and photo albums. They have done a tremendous job of building this site and adjusting the site for educators.

http://www.mixbook.com/

  • Nori Yoshida and Jack Yu – co-creators of Brainyflix, which is an SAT vocabulary video contest. This is a “must” for any high school teachers!

http://www.brainyflix.com/

I think the best way to share what was available is to just link to the wiki. Here you can find all the presentations, handouts, wikis, etc. A big thank you to Cheryl Capozolli for organizing the conference and developing a great opportunity for learning! Stay tuned for information about next year’s event.

http://cr20pa.wikispaces.com/Presentations

Leave a Reply

